SC Scene

The Dark Side of SC Music | August 30, 2008

“Pretty music is ok, but I like mine real!”

Today I found the dark side of the music industry in South Carolina. I am not naming names though. I think we all know that these people exist because we have seen bands that have gotten big, used and dumped by the big blood-sucking record labels.

There are ways to make money playing music and you don’t have to “sell out” to do that. Be careful who your company is. Be careful who you surround yourself with. Likely enough if they are trying to make money off of you, you are potentially in a dangerous situation. Unless that is what you want. And that may well be what your band is trying to accomplish. Go for it. If you want to make a living letting someone else write your music. Go for it. I hope I never accidentally write about you or promote your band.

Let me tell you what Scene SC is about and it isn’t about using bands to make money. I’ll promote your band all day and that is because I probably love your music. I don’t ever want to see a dime of your hard earned money. I spend hours upon hours going to shows and video taping because it is what I love to do. I would love to find a way to make money doing this, but that way isn’t to somehow take money from bands or sell advertising to someone that I don’t even like so they can use my readers to promote their product. I was a Public Relations/Advertising major and I swear that it makes me sick almost all of the time. So we don’t sell advertising. If you see advertising on the website, I either like the business or I like the artist.

If you have read any of my past posts, pretty much all of the artist that I promote have something in common besides writing good music or being a good business. The words you will see a lot are truth, genuine and honest.

Bentz Kirby’s myspace says it best.

“Pretty music is ok, but I like mine real!”

So here it is. There are two sides to the music industry and hopefully from this post you can tell which crowd we at Scene SC run with. I feel like most of the bands that I am friends with and promote agree with my mindset. If you don’t we can just agree to disagree.

Always remember this too.

Bands with managers are going places.
Bands with messy hair and smooth white faces.

But you don’t believe when I say that it won’t be alright.

Do you want to be Best Buy or do you want to be Horizon Records?

The decision is yours, but atleast you know where I stand.


Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment

About author

A Fan of South Carolina Music.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds